top of page

City Government

The City of Americus is a Georgia municipal corporation with a seven member City Council composed of the Mayor and six Council members. The Mayor is elected by voters at-large and serves a four year term. The six Council members are elected from single member districts and serve staggered four year terms. The Mayor and Council are vested with policy making authority.

The Mayor and Council meet monthly in the Council Chambers of the Russell Thomas, Jr. Public Safety Building, 119 South Lee Street. For the date and time contact the City Clerk at 229-924-4411 or click here to view the calendar.

2023 Qualifying Election Notice

Past Mayors
bottom of page